Third Offense DUI/OVUII in Hawaii
If you get a third DUI (referred to as an OVUII in Hawaii) within five years of a prior offense, you will be charged with a misdemeanor. (The penalties will be more severe if you had a minor under the age of 15 in your car at the time of the arrest.)
A third DUI/OVUII within five years will result in revocation of your license for two years and installation during the revocation period of an ignition interlock device on any vehicle operated by the person.
The criminal penalties for a third DUI/OVUII include:
- a fine of not less than $500 but not more than $2,500 and
- not less than ten days but not more than thirty days imprisonment, of which at least forty-eight hours shall be served consecutively
Getting a Lawyer
Because of the severity of the penalties (there is no plea bargaining for DUI/OVUIIIs in Hawaii), a lawyer's advice may helpful.