Third Offense DUI in Idaho
A third DUI in Idaho is a felony, provided that the previous two DUI convictions occurred within ten years.
The minimum jail time for a third offense DUI is 30 days (the first forty-eight (48) hours of which must be consecutive, and ten (10) days of which must be served in jail), though a driver could face a maximum of 5 years in jail. In addition, the driver will have supervised probation for an amount of time specified by the judge. It usually ranges from 3 to 5 years. The driver should expect to pay a fine of up to $5,000.
License suspension ranges from one year to five years and starts when you are released from your jail sentence.
To get your license reinstated, you will need to show evidence of an SR22 insurance policy. You will also need to pay a fee to get your license reinstated. Note that before you get your license back, you will have to pay to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, which of course can only occur after the mandatory year of suspension. This will need to be used for the first year that you are driving again, and its point is to prevent the car from starting if your blood alcohol content is .02 or higher.
Additionally, you may need to complete alcohol treatment, as well as an evaluation, to ensure that you understand the reasons that drinking and driving is wrong. You will need to pay for this penalty out-of-pocket before you get your driver's license back.
Consult a Lawyer Immediately
Idaho allows you to plea bargain your DUI case down to a lesser charge, such as wet or dry reckless driving, both of which carry milder punishments than a third DUI. Talk to a lawyer about your plea options if you wish to do anything other than plead guilty to this felony.