Can I Plead to a "Wet Reckless" in Vermont?
Plea bargaining in Vermont drunk driving cases.
In some states, it’s possible for a motorist who’s accused of driving under the influence (DUI) to “plea bargain” for a lesser charge. When such a plea bargain is for a reckless driving charge (called “negligent operation” in Vermont), it’s sometimes called a “wet reckless.”
Plea Bargaining in Vermont DUI Cases
Unlike some other states, Vermont doesn’t restrict plea bargaining in DUI cases. So, for someone who’s charged with drunk driving, plea bargaining for a wet reckless or some other lesser offense is a possibility.
Benefits of a Wet Reckless Plea
The benefits of pleading to a wet reckless are simple: The penalties for a negligent operation violation are generally less severe than those for a DUI conviction. For instance, a first DUI typically involves a 90-day license suspension, whereas, with a first reckless driving conviction, the suspension is just 30 days.
Talk to an Attorney
If you’ve been arrest for driving under the influence, talk to an experienced local DUI attorney. The facts of every case are different. A qualified DUI lawyer can talk to you about what the possibilities are for your case.