First Offense DUI in Mississippi
A conviction for a first DUI offense in Mississippi results in both criminal (fines, jail time) and administrative penalties (license suspension). Keep in mind that penalties may be more severe for commercial drivers, juveniles and underage drivers (in violation of zero tolerance laws) or for incidents involving property damage or bodily injury.
- First offense DUI in Mississippi results in administrative license suspension of ninety (90) days with the potential of a driver to obtain a hardship-based license after serving thirty (30) days of suspension. A bill which should go into effect July, 2014, would require a 90 day suspension or 30 day suspension with interlock device.
- First offense refusals to submit, under Mississippi’s implied consent laws, results in an automatic license suspension of ninety (90) days
- Reinstatement may require alcohol/substance abuse assessment
How Much Will it Cost?
To get an idea of how much a first offense DUI will cost you, see our article on the cost of a DUI.
- First offense DUI convictions in Mississippi carry potential of incarceration of up to two (2) days with no mandatory minimum period of incarceration
- Penalties also include attending alcohol/substance abuse assessment and educational courses, as well as attending a crime victims impact panel
- Fines range from $250 to $1100, which does not cover costs incurred during completion of sentence or other court fees or surcharges
- Convictions of first offense DUI influencing categorization and penalties associated with any subsequent or future DUI arrest for a period of five (5) years
Getting Legal Help
The state of Mississippi outright bars plea options entailing reduction of DUI charges into lesser criminal or non-criminal offenses, but defendants are still free to negotiate favorable plea terms within the confines of a given DUI charge. Likewise, defendants should seek out the advice and representation of legal counsel in an effort to obtain dismissal of the charges as well. For more information, consult with a Mississippi first DUI lawyer to learn more.