Second Offense DUI in Alaska
A second offense DUI in Alaska refers to a second conviction within 15 years of a prior DUI offense. A second offense is a Class A misdemeanor with enhanced penalties.
Upon a second conviction for driving under the influence occurring within 15 years of a prior conviction, the court may immediately revoke the offender's license, privilege to drive or privilege to obtain a license, and may not grant limited license privileges for no less than one year. If the vehicle involved was a motor vehicle, commercial motor vehicle or aircraft, the minimum period of revocation for a second conviction is also a minimum of one year. This revocation may run concurrent with or consecutive to an administrative revocation pursuant to an immediate roadside revocation by an arresting officer or a revocation for the driver's refusal to submit to chemical testing.
Upon a second offense involving alcohol, an ignition interlock device is required to be installed for 12 months.
The court, without a jury, may also order a forfeiture of any motor vehicle, water vehicle or aircraft if the court determines that the forfeiture will prevent future offenses or is for the protection of the public's safety and welfare.
A second DUI conviction in Alaska incurs a minimum prison sentence of no less than 20 days and a minimum fine of $3,000. The court may also require the offender be assessed for drug or alcohol abuse, as well as participate in and successfully complete a drug treatment program. The court may not suspend a sentence or grant probation unless the defendant serves the minimum imprisonment term and pays the minimum required fine. Additionally, the court may order an incarcerated defendant, or as a condition of probation or probation, to take a drug or combination of drugs to prevent the consumption of an alcoholic beverage.
Cost of imprisonment must be reimbursed by the defendant. In the case of a second conviction, the defendant must reimburse the state $1,467 (this figure is as of 2010, and is subject to increase). The defendant must also pay any additional surcharges.
Failure to satisfy any drug treatment program may result in the court imposing all or part of the remaining portion of a suspended sentence.
According to AS 28.35.030(t)(4), "previously convicted" means "having been convicted in this or another jurisdiction within the 15 years preceding the date of the present offense of any of the following offenses" that include violating a similar law providing a lower BAC, refusing to submit to a chemical test, or operating a commercial motor vehicle in violation of this section or another law with similar elements.
A defendant may raise consumption of alcohol as a defense if the consumption occurred after operation of the motor vehicle but during the statutory four hours before testing. The defendant may also plead not guilty after rebutting the results of the test or questioning the circumstances surrounding the arrest. Note however, that upon a guilty plea or conviction, the court requires the execution of the minimum sentencing before considering any offers of probation or parole.
Talk with an Attorney
If you face a second DUI charge in Alaska, you risk at least 20 days in prison as well as a minimum fine of $3,000. Penalties increase for subsequent offenses. Talk with an experienced attorney to discuss possible plea options and how to best defend against prosecution.