Second Offense DUI in Washington D.C.
The District of Columbia classifies a driver with a BAC of .07 or lower as a DUI, and a driver is with a BAC of .08 or higher as a DWI (Driving while intoxicated). The penalties for a second DWI (within 15 years) depend on the BAC determination (as explained below).
A second DUI offense within 15 years will result in a one-year license suspension. The driver can apply for reinstatement of the license after the period of suspension by paying a reinstatement fee.
If you are convicted for a second offense DUI within the 15 year look back period, you can expect to pay a fine between $2500 and $5000. You will be subject to mandatory jail term of 10 days if your BAC is below .20; 25 days if your BAC is above .20; 30 days if above .25; and 35 days in jail if above .35 BAC. You may also have to do community service.
Get Legal Advice
Because of the seriousness of the penalties, you should consider consulting with an experienced Washington DC DUI attorney.