In North Dakota, first DUI (driving under the influence) convictions are generally misdemeanors. A DUI is considered a first offense if the driver has no prior DUI convictions within the past seven years. Here are some of the more common consequences and penalties of a first DUI conviction in North Dakota.
North Dakota law sets the minimum and maximum penalties for a first DUI. Generally, the judge sets the specific penalties within the allowable ranges.
A first DUI conviction is a class B misdemeanor and carries up to 30 days in jail and $500 to $1,500 in fines. But if the driver's blood alcohol concentration was .16% or more, the minimum jail time is two days and the minimum fine is $750. Also, if there was a minor in the vehicle during the DUI offense, the penalties will be more severe.
All DUI offenders must complete a substance abuse evaluation and follow the recommended treatment.
The court reports all DUI convictions to the Department of Transportation. For most first-offense DUIs, the state will revoke the driver's license for 91 days. However, for drivers who had a blood alcohol concentration of .18% or more or refused alcohol testing in violation of the implied consent law, the suspension will be 180 days.
If you've been arrested for driving under the influence in North Dakota, talk to a DUI lawyer as soon as possible. The consequences of a DUI are serious, especially if you have prior convictions. A qualified DUI attorney can tell you how the law applies to your case and help you decide on how best to handle your situation.