A third DUI (driving under the influence) conviction is a felony in Mississippi. (The term "operating under the influence" (OUI) is also used in the state.) A DUI is considered a third offense in Mississippi if the driver has two prior DUIs that occurred within the last five years.
Here are some of the more common consequences and penalties of a third DUI conviction in Mississippi.
Mississippi law sets the minimum and maximum penalties for a third DUI. Generally, the judge sets the specific penalties within the allowable ranges.
A third DUI in Mississippi carries one to five years in jail and $2,000 to $5,000 in fines. Offenders must also complete a substance abuse evaluation and follow the recommended treatment.
DUIs involving passengers who are under the age of 16 can lead to a separate charge that carries one to five years in jail and at least $10,000 in fines.
The court reports all DUI convictions to the Commissioner of Public Safety. For most third-offense DUIs, the state will revoke the driver's license for the period of incarceration. When the convicted motorist gets out of jail, he or she will be eligible for only a restricted ignition interlock license (IID) for three years.
If you've been arrested for driving under the influence in Mississippi, talk to a DUI lawyer as soon as possible. The consequences of a DUI are serious, especially if you have prior convictions. A qualified DUI attorney can tell you how the law applies to your case and help you decide on how best to handle your situation.