In New Hampshire, DWI (driving while intoxicated) penalties increase with the number of prior convictions the driver has. A DWI is considered a third offense if the driver has two DWI prior convictions that occurred within the past ten years.
Here are some of the more common consequences and penalties of a third DWI conviction in New Hampshire.
New Hampshire law sets the minimum and maximum penalties for a third DWI. And the judge generally determines the specific penalties within the allowable ranges.
A third DWI conviction generally carries 180 days to one year in jail and $750 to $2,000 in fines. However, offenses involving aggravating factors such as child passengers, a particularly high blood alcohol concentration, and injuries or deaths can carry more severe penalties.
The court reports all DWI convictions to the Division of Motor Vehicles. For most third-offense DWIs, the state will permanently revoke the driver's license. However, reinstatement is possible after five years of revocation.
If you've been arrested for driving under the influence in New Hampshire, talk to a DWI lawyer as soon as possible. The consequences of a DWI are serious, especially if you have prior convictions. A qualified DWI attorney can tell you how the law applies to your case and help you decide on how best to handle your situation.