Illinois's DUI laws prohibit operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more or while under the influence of (impaired by) drugs or alcohol, or with a specified amount of certain substances (such as marijuana or other drugs) in your system. Most DUI convictions are misdemeanor criminal offenses. But certain aggravating factors can make a DUI a felony.
Here are some of the circumstances that can result in felony DUI charges in Illinois.
For most first and second DUIs in Illinois, the offender will be looking at misdemeanor charges. But when an offender has two or more prior DUI convictions within their lifetime, the current offense generally can be charged as a class 2 felony.
A third DUI conviction carries 90 days to seven years in prison (up to 14 years if the offense involves certain aggravating factors) and up to $25,000 in fines.
Illinois's DUI law lists a number of circumstances that make a DUI an aggravated offense and a felony. These circumstances include:
The penalties for these offenses vary. But, generally, the offender is looking at the possibility of prison time and thousands of dollars in fines.
The consequences of a DUI conviction are serious, especially if it's a felony charge. If you've been charged with a DUI, you should get in contact with a qualified DUI attorney. An experienced DUI lawyer can review your case and advise you on your options and the best course of action.