Wyoming's Drugged Driving Laws

How drug use can result in a DUI charge in Wyoming and the penalties that result from a conviction.

By , Attorney

Wyoming not only prohibits drunk driving but also driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs. The penalties for a drug DUI are generally the same as those for an alcohol-related offense.

This article discusses how Wyoming defines drugged driving and the consequences of a violation.

Drugged Driving Defined

A Wyoming motorist can be convicted of a drug DUI for driving or being in "actual physical control" of a vehicle while under the influence any "controlled substance."

Under the influence. Under Wyoming law, a driver is considered under the influence when, as the result of ingesting drugs, he or she is "incapable of safely" driving.

Controlled substances. Wyoming's list of "controlled substances" is extensive and includes:

  • opioids
  • opiates
  • stimulants
  • hallucinogens,
  • benzodiazepines, and
  • cannabinoids.

Marijuana, cocaine, methamphetamine, heroin, and painkillers (like OxyContin and Vicodin) are some of the more common examples of controlled substances.

Drugged Driving Penalties

The consequences of a Wyoming drugged driving conviction depend on the circumstances. But a DUI is generally a misdemeanor and carries the following possible penalties:

  • First offense. A first DUI conviction generally carries up to six months in jail, a maximum fine of $750, and a 90-day license suspension.
  • Second offense. For a second DUI within ten years, the offender is generally looking at seven days to six months in jail, fines of $200 to $750, and a one-year license suspension.
  • Third offense. Generally, a third DUI within ten years will result in 30 days to six months in jail, $750 to $3,000 in fines, and a three-year license suspension.

Depending on the circumstances, a DUI offender might also be required to have an ignition interlock device in his or her vehicle for a period of time following license reinstatement.

Getting Legal Help

Wyoming DUI law is complex, and the facts of every case are different. If you've been arrested for driving under the influence, talk to an experienced DUI attorney in your area. A qualified DUI lawyer can tell you how the law applies to the facts of your case and help you decide on the best course of action.

Protect Yourself. Talk to a Lawyer About Your Case

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you

Talk to a DUI Defense attorney

We've helped 115 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you