Alaska Drunk Driving Fines & Penalties

Learn about the penalties for a DUI conviction in Alaska.

Need Professional Help? Talk to a Local Defense Attorney.

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

searchbox small

What are the penalties for a DUI in Alaska?


1st Offense

2nd Offense

3rd Offense

4th Offense 5th Offense

Jail

Min. 72 hours

Min. 20 days

60 to 120 days

90 to 120 days 240 to 360 days

Fines and Penalties

$1,500

$3,000

$4,000 to $10,000

$5,000 to $10,000 $6,000 to $10,000

License Suspension

Min. 90 days

Min. 1 year

Min. 3 years

Min. 5 years Min. 5 years

IID** Required

Yes

Yes

Yes Yes Yes

Additional DUI Penalties in Alaska

In addition to the penalties listed above, a driver convicted of a DUI in Alaska may impose the following:

  • While the convicted driver is incarcerated or as a condition of probation or parole be required to take medication that is intended to prevent the consumption of alcohol.
  • During probation, the offender may not operate a motor vehicle unless it is equipped with a certified ignition interlock device**. All costs associated with the installation and maintenance of this device will be paid by the convicted DUI offender.
  • The court may order the screening, drug and alcohol evaluation, referral, and program requirements of an alcohol safety action program as a condition of probation or parole.

Lookback Period: 15 years (Period of time that prior DUIs are relevant for sentencing. Also known as a “washout” period.)

**Ignition Interlock Device

How much do you have to drink (BAC*) for a DUI in Alaska?

Under 21

.00%  (Alaska is a zero tolerance state)

21 or older

.08%

Commercial

.04%

** BAC = blood alcohol content

How many drinks does it take? Check the BAC chart.

You may want to try our BAC Calculator, however I wouldn't let any results encourage you to drink and drive.

What if you refuse to take a chemical test in Alaska?

Alaska has an implied consent law. That means that if you refuse to submit to a chemical test you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension. Learn more about Alaska’s implied consent law.

 

1st Offense

2d Offense

3rd Offense

Refusal to take test

3 days jail; mandatory ignition interlock device; fines up to $1,500

20 days jail; mandatory ignition interlock device; fines up to $3,000

60 days jail; mandatory ignition interlock device; fines up to $4,000

Disclaimer: We try to keep the information provided here up to date. However, laws often change, as do their interpretation and application. Different jurisdictions within a state may enforce the laws in different ways. For that reason, we recommended that you seek the advice of a local attorney familiar with DUI cases in your area.

Can you plead to a lesser offense than DUI in Alaska?

A defendant might receive a "wet reckless," or a conviction of reckless driving involving alcohol, as a result of a plea bargain in which a charge of drunk driving is reduced to a case of reckless driving. There is no statutory provision on whether a wet reckless plea bargain will be accepted in Alaska, but it's possible a lawyer may be able to create a plea bargain for you.

Drinking and Driving in Alaska - Revoking Your Driving License

The State of Alaska will revoke your driving privileges the following offenses:

  • Refusing to submit to a chemical test following an arrest for driving under the influence.
  • A person whose blood contains 0.08 percent or more concentration of alcohol.
  • A commercial vehicle operator whose blood alcohol contend is .04 percent or more.
  • Persons under the age of 21 that operate a motor vehicle after consuming alcohol.
  • Persons under the age of 21 that refuse to submit to a chemical test.
  • Persons under the age of 21 that use a false drivers license to obtain alcohol.

As you can read above, in the State of Alaska has drunk driving laws for adults and drivers under the age of 21. If you are a commercial driver the allowed concentration of alcohol in your blood system is reduced to .04 percent or above.

How many drinks does it take to reach the legal limit in Alaska? There isn't a right answer to this question, there are many variables that contribute to an individuals BAC score. There are calculators and charts that can be used as references, however each individual has unique physical characteristics that contribute to a BAC score. In fact, it takes very little alcohol to become legally drunk and physical attributes such as weight, gender and body fat percentage can all be factors in the equation. The best answer is to have zero drinks before you drive, drinking and driving will cost you your freedom, lost wages, fines, and sr-22 insurance requirements.

SR22 Insurance Requirements in Alaska

Depending on your situation, an SR22 insurance policy may be necessary to have your drivers license reinstated. In Alaska, you must carry an SR22 insurance policy for 3 years after the last day of your revocation. You don't need to be a car owner to procure an SR22 policy in Alaska, contact an SR22 insurance company and ask about an Alaska SR22 non-owner policy .

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find defense attorneys near you.
HOW IT WORKS
how it works 1
Briefly tell us about your case
how it works 2
Provide your contact information
how it works 1
Connect with local attorneys
LA-NOLO3:DRU.1.6.3.20141015.28794