Second Offense DUI in Virginia
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
The State of Virginia proclaims that "Virginia is tough on drunk and drugged drivers. That may become evident if you have been stopped for a second DUI in the state. The penalties include:
A second conviction of DUI in Virginia is a Class 1 misdemeanor. You will be required to:
- pay a fine of at least $500 and
- have your driver's license will be revoked for three years.
If your first conviction occurred within the past 10 years, the court will require you to get an ignition interlock device on every vehicle you own, co-own or operate if you want to have your driving privileges reinstated after that period.
Jail time. There is also a possibility that you will receive a sentence of up to one year in jail. If this second offense occurs within 10 years of your first offense the court is required to sentence you to at least 10 days in jail. The mandatory sentence increases to 20 days if your previous conviction occurred only five years ago.
You will also be ordered into the Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) at your own expense. This program is used to determine which intervention services you need. You may, for example, be ordered to obtain substance abuse treatment. You will be on probation overseen by ASAP for three years.
In addition to the criminal punishments, you will face administrative consequences if you are have a previous DUI conviction and you are charged again due to a blood alcohol content (BAC) that is .08 or higher. DMV will suspend your driver's license for 60 days or until you go to court. This will happen after you are arrested and before you are even convicted.
If your first conviction occurred within the past five years DMV will require you to get an ignition interlock device before granting you restricted driving privileges or restoring your regular privileges.
Those charged with a second DUI in Virginia should consider retaining legal counsel as you may be subject to harsher penalties than those listed above if you had an elevated BAC level.