Second Offense DUI/OVUII in Hawaii
A second DUI offense (referred to as an OVUII in Hawaii) is considered a misdemeanor offense unless there are aggravating circumstances such as property damage or bodily injury in which case it may be classified as a felony offense.
In Hawaii a person arrested for a second DUI/OVUII within five years will be subject to administrative penalties including license revocation for not less than eighteen months nor more than two years and installation during the revocation period of an ignition interlock device on any vehicle operated by the person.
The criminal penalties for a second offense DUI/OVUII within five years in Hawaii include:
Either one of the following:
- Not less than two hundred forty hours of community service work; or
- Not less than five days but not more than thirty days of imprisonment, of which at least forty-eight hours shall be served consecutively.
In addition, a second offender is subject to a fine of not less than $500 but not more than $1,500;
Hawaii prohibits plea bargaining for a lesser offense than DUI/OVUII. In other words, there are two plea options for a person charged with a second offense DUI – guilty or not guilty.
Always Talk to a Lawyer
Because the criminal, administrative and social consequences of repeat DUI convictions are serious, it is advisable to talk to a defense attorney immediately after being charged with a DUI/OVUII.