First Offense DUI in North Dakota
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
A first DUI conviction in North Dakota results in criminal penalties (jails, fines, etc.) as well administrative remedies (license suspension).
- license suspension of 91 days if blood alcohol content (BAC) is 08% - .17%; license suspension of 180 days if .18% or greater
- Reinstatement contingent upon completion of alcohol/drug assessment and obtaining SR-22 coverage, but for first offenders, ignition interlock devices are not required, unless specifically ordered at discretion of the courts
- Refusals to submit, under implied consent laws in North Dakota, result in automatic one (1) year license suspension for first offense
- There is no mandatory minimum period of incarceration for first offense DUI convictions in North Dakota, although defendants face possibility of incarceration pending the case-specific nature of each offense.
- A first offense is a Class B misdemeanor
- There is a $500 fine if BAC below .16
- Two days imprisonment and $750 fine if .16 or greater
- Addiction evaluation required
Getting Legal Help
The state of North Dakota does not expressly prohibit pleading down of DUI charges into lesser criminal or non-criminal, traffic offenses, if applicable. Defendants, upon the advice of legal counsel and in light of case-specific elements, are free to negotiate favorable plea agreements with prosecutors. For more information, consult with a North Dakota first DUI lawyer to learn more.