First Offense DUI in Indiana
Talk to a Local Defense Attorney
Enter the zip code where the incident took place to connect with a lawyer serving that area.
The state of Indiana punishes offenders in a first DUI (referred to as an OWI -- operating while intoxicated -- in Indiana) via both criminal penalties (jail time, fines) and administrative action (license suspension).
- First offense OWI/DUI in Indiana results in administrative license suspension of one hundred and eighty (180) days with possibility of obtaining a restricted or hardship license in almost all cases
- Reinstatement handled on a case by case basis, with the possibility of hardship reinstatement requiring use of an ignition interlock device
- Refusals to submit under Indiana’s implied consent laws result in administrative license suspension of one (1) year
- First offense convictions for OWI/DUI in Indiana do not require any mandatory minimum period of incarceration, but can potentially result in incarceration of not more than sixty (60) days
- First offense convictions, by statute, do not mandate alcohol/substance abuse assessment or education, but in practice, most sentences or court proceedings will require these elements
- First offense convictions of OWI/DUI in Indiana result in fines ranging from not more than $500 to not more than $5000, based on the BAC of the offender at the time of arrest, but fine amount does not cover court costs, surcharges, and other associated expenses related to resolving a DUI case
- Convictions influence subsequent or future OWI/DUI convictions indefinitely
Getting Legal Help
The state of Indiana expressly bars reduction of DUI charges into lesser, potentially non-criminal convictions, but defendants still can negotiate favorable plea options involving limited penalties, depending on the specific nature of their case. Likewise, it is always possible to obtain outright dismissal of the DUI charges as well. For more information and insight into this process, consult with an Indiana DUI lawyer to learn more.