Underage DUI/DWI Laws by State

Learn about the laws and penalties for underage drunk driving in all 50 states.

Consult the chart below for a brief description of your state's underage driving under the influence (DUI) fines and penalties for first time offenders. Click on the link to your state for detailed information.

State Jail Fines & Penalties License Suspension
Alabama up to 1 Year with no minimum $600 to $2,100 90 days
Alaska minimum of 72 hours $1,500 90 days
Arizona minimum of 24 hours, up to 10 days $1,600 90 – 360 days
Arkansas 24 hours or up to 1 year or may be community service $150 to $1000 90 - 120 days
California 4 days up to 6 months $1400 to $2600 30 days to 10 months
Colorado 5 days to 1 year $600 to $1,000 minimum 90 days
Connecticut 48 hours up to six months $500 to $1,000 6 months to 1 year
Delaware up to 6 months $500 to $1,500 2 months to 1 year
D.C. 90 days $300 to $1,000 6 months
Florida determined by judge $1,000 to $2,000 6 months
Georgia no mandatory jail time $300 to $1,000 6 months
Hawaii up to 1 year $150 to $1,000 up to 180 days
Idaho up to 6 months up to $1,000 1 year
Illinois determined by judge max. $2,500 3 months
Indiana up to 60 days up to $500 up to 1 year
Iowa 2 days up to 1 year $625 to $1,250 6 months
Kansas 48 hours up to 1 year $500 to $1,000 30 days
Kentucky 2 days up to 30 days $200 to $500 30 to 120 days
Louisiana 2 days to 6 months up to $1,000 90 days
Maine up to 2 months $500 or $1,000 6 months
Maryland up to 2 months $500 or $1,000 6 months
Massachusetts up to 30 months $500 to $5,000 90 days to one year
Michigan 15 days of community service $250 1 to 6 months
Minnesota up to 90 days up to $1,000 30 days
Mississippi up to 2 days $250 to $1,100 30 to 90 days
Missouri up to 6 months up to $500 30 to 90 days
Montana 1 day up to 6 months $300 to $1,000 up to 6 months
Nebraska 7 to 60 days up to $500 6 months
Nevada 2 days to 6 months $400 to $1,000 90 days
New Hampshire up to 10 days $750 6 to 18 months
New Jersey 2 to 90 days $500 to $1,000 90 days
New Mexico up to 90 days up to $500 90 days to one year
New York up to 1 year $500 to $1,000 6 months
North Carolina up to 1 year $200 to $500 60 days
North Dakota up to 1 year $250 minimum 91 days
Ohio 10 days to 1 year $500 to $1,000 6 months to 3 years
Oklahoma community service up to $500 6 months
Oregon 2 days to 1 year $500 to $1,000 up to 1 year
Pennsylvania up to 90 days $300 to $500 no penalty, except 12 months if above .10% BAC
Rhode Island community service $500 6 to 18 months
South Carolina 2 to 30 days min. $400 6 months
South Dakota up to 1 year $1,000 30 days
Tennessee 45 days to 1 year $600 up to $3,500 2 years
Texas 3 to 180 days Up to $2000 Up to 90 days
Utah 2 days or more $700 or more 120 days
Vermont up to 2 years up to $750 90 days to 6 months
Virginia up to 10 days $250 to $1,000 up to 1 year
Washington up to 1 year $850 to $5,000 90 days
West Virginia up to 6 months $100 to $1,000 15 to 45 days
Wisconsin no minimum $150 $300 6 to 9 months
Wyoming up to 6 months up to $750 90 days

Additional Resources

Follow the links below to get additional information surrounding underage and teen driving laws.

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys
NOLODRUPAL-web3:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205