New Hampshire’s Underage DWI Laws

How New Hampshire’s drunk driving laws apply to drivers who are under 21 years old and the consequences of an underage DWI.

Under New Hampshire law, it's illegal for drivers who are younger than the legal drinking age (21 years old) to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02% or more. Here are the consequences a driver faces if convicted of an underage DWI (operating under the influence) offense.

Underage DWI Penalties

In many states, the penalties for an underage DUI are less severe than those for a standard DUI. However, in New Hampshire, an underage DWI generally carries the same penalties as those for a normal DWI conviction with a few variations.

An underage DWI violation will result in the following consequences:

  • First offense. For a first violation, the driver faces $500 to $1,200 in fines.
  • Second offense. For a second violation, the driver is looking at $750 to $2,000 in fines and 17 days to one year in jail.
  • Third offense. For a third violation or subsequent offense, the driver will be facing $750 to $2,000 in fines and 180 days to one year in jail.

In addition to these penalties, the underage driver will have to complete a substance abuse evaluation and the recommended treatment. The driver will also lose driving privileges for at least one year.

Talk to an Attorney

Regardless of the charge, it's always best to talk to an experienced DWI attorney if you've been cited for driving under the influence. A qualified lawyer can tell you how the law applies to your situation and help you decide on the best course of action.

Protect Yourself. Talk to a Lawyer About Your Case

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FACING A DUI?

Talk to a DUI Defense attorney

We've helped 115 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you