What are the penalties for a DUI in California? The penalties for a DUI in California will vary depending on the circumstances of the case, but generally, the sentencing guidelines for a DUI conviction are as follows.
Defendants facing a first DUI in California face both criminal and administrative penalties. A single count of DUI in California may incur elevated administrative action, if the driver refuses to submit to a breathalyzer test.
If you are charged with your third DUI in California (and you first one was less than 10 years earlier), the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will impose administrative sanctions independent of criminal penalties described below.
Underage drivers (motorists who are under the age of 21) who operate a vehicle while “under the influence” or with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher can be charged with a “standard” DUI and generally face the same penalties as drivers who are at least 21 years old.
In California, it’s a crime to operate a vehicle while “under the influence” of alcohol or drugs or with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more. (Get an estimate of how many drinks it takes to get to the legal limit.) Generally, California law provides sentencing guidelines for drivers
Pre-trial proceedings are court procedures that allow the parties (the defendant and the state) to review and exchange evidence and information. This back-and-forth (as well as the underlying procedural rules) make for a more efficient handling of DUI cases as well as stronger likelihood of a successful plea bargain.
A public defender (“PD”) is a court appointed attorney, paid by the state of California, and assigned to represent indigent criminal defendants facing jail time. In other words, if you cannot afford a lawyer for your DUI case in California, the court will appoint and pay for one (you don't get to pick).