Unfortunately, Wisconsin has more drunks behind the wheel than any other state. At least 25% of drivers in Wisconsin admitted that they had driven under the influence of alcohol. At least 45% of fatal car accidents in Wisconsin were alcohol related. Wisconsin employs differing sentencing requirements for first offense DUI charges.
A second DUI offense in Wisconsin or OWI (driving under the influence or operating while intoxicated) or “PAC” (prohibited alcohol concentration) carries strict penalties, fines, jail time and suspension or revocation of your driver’s license.
Here is what you should know about the penalties for those convicted of a third offense OWI/DUI in Wisconsin. Administrative Penalties In Wisconsin the administrative penalties for this third offense include a license revocation for a period of 2 to 3 years. An occpuational license can be applied for after 45 days.
Sobriety checkpoints are not authorized in Wisconsin (see Wis. Stat. §349.02(2)(a) which prohibits sobriety roadblocks). Sobriety checkpoints are random traffic stops, not tied to any specific suspicions.
Answer: A wisconsin OWI is similar to a DWI or DUI in other states. An OWI refers to operating while intoxicated and it is a charge appropriate for anyone who is above the legal limit (.08% blood alcohol content) while driving a vehicle or who is otherwise impaired while driving.