Read about how Virginia defines "driving while intoxicated" (DWI) and the penalties—including jail time, fines, and license suspension—you'll be looking at for a first, second, or third DWI conviction.
Virginia categorizes a first DUI offense as a class 1 misdemeanor and imposes a fine ranginging from $250 to $2,500. The law also imposes a one-year license suspension. The punishment increases if you were arrested with a BAC of 0.15% or higher in which case your sentence may include a minimum five-day jail sentence..
Each DUI conviction in Virginia results in harsher penalties. If you have been stopped for a second DUI in Virginia, you will be subject to the following criminal and administrative penalties. Criminal Penalties A second conviction of DUI in Virginia is a Class 1 misdemeanor. You will be required to:
Virginia has no “lookback” period so that it doesn’t matter when you commit your third DUI. However if all three DUIs occurred within the past decades, the legal consequences are likely to be more severe.
The drinking age in Virginia is 21 and consumption of alcohol by anyone under 21 is illegal except on private, non alcohol-selling premises, with consent of a legal guardian -- for example, with legal guardian’s permission at a party.
Sobriety checkpoints are legal in Virginia (see 337 S.E.2d 273 (Va. 1985)). These checkpoints (also referred to as "mobile checkpoints" or "roadblocks") are police traffic stops that are not tied to any specific or individual suspicions.
Virginia law prohibits operating a watercraft or motorboat while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. There are a few ways a person can be convicted of boating under the influence (BUI) for operating a watercraft or motorboat.