Idaho’s Underage DUI Laws

How Idaho’s drunk driving laws apply to drivers who are under 21 years old and the consequences of an underage DUI.

In Idaho, drivers who are under the legal drinking age (21 years old) are prohibited from operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02% or more. However, the penalties for an underage DUI violation are different than those for a standard DUI.

Underage DUI Penalties

An underage DUI is a misdemeanor and carries the following penalties:

  • First offense. For a first violation, the driver will generally be looking at a fine of up to $1,000 and a one-year license suspension (though a restricted license might be available after 90 days).
  • Second offense. For a second violation, the driver will typically be facing five to 30 days in jail, fines of $500 to $2,000, and a two-year license suspension (with a restricted license available after one year). Following the suspension, the driver will be required to have an ignition interlock device (IID) for one year.
  • Third offense. For a third violation, the driver faces ten days to six months in jail, $1,000 to $2,000 in fines, and a license suspension for the longer of one year or until the driver reaches age 21. Following the suspension, the driver will be required to have an IID for one year.

For all offenses, the driver must complete a substance abuse evaluation and possibly some sort of education or treatment.

When Underage Drivers Face Standard DUI Penalties

Underage drivers who are caught operating a vehicle with a BAC of .08% or more or while under the influence of (impaired by) drugs or alcohol face the standard DUI penalties. Depending on the circumstances, someone convicted of a standard DUI could be looking at fines, jail time, and license suspension.

Talk to an Attorney

Regardless of the charge, it's always best to talk to an experienced DUI attorney if you've been cited for driving under the influence. A qualified lawyer can tell you how the law applies to your situation and help you decide on the best course of action.

Protect Yourself. Talk to a Lawyer About Your Case

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FACING A DUI?

Talk to a DUI Defense attorney

We've helped 115 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you