Kentucky’s Underage DUI/OUI Laws

How Kentucky’s drunk driving laws apply to drivers who are under 21 years old and the consequences of an underage DUI/OUI.

Under Kentucky law, it's illegal for drivers who are younger than the legal drinking age (21 years old) to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02% or more. Here are the consequences a driver faces if convicted of an underage OUI (operating under the influence) offense.

Underage OUI Penalties

An underage OUI violation will result in a fine of $100 to $500 or 20 hours of community service and license suspension. The period of suspension varies depending on the driver's history. However, many drivers can reduce the suspension period by installing an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. The driver will also have to complete a substance abuse evaluation and substance abuse treatment or education for a period of 90 days.

When Underage Drivers Face Standard DUI Penalties

Underage drivers who are caught operating a vehicle with a BAC of .08% or more or while under the influence of (impaired by) drugs or alcohol face the standard OUI penalties. Depending on the circumstances, someone convicted of a standard DUI could be looking at fines, jail time, and license suspension.

Talk to an Attorney

Regardless of the charge, it's always best to talk to an experienced DUI attorney if you've been cited for driving under the influence. A qualified lawyer can tell you how the law applies to your situation and help you decide on the best course of action.

Protect Yourself. Talk to a Lawyer About Your Case

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FACING A DUI?

Talk to a DUI Defense attorney

We've helped 115 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you