Maine’s Underage OUI Laws

How Maine’s drunk driving laws apply to drivers who are under 21 years old and the consequences of an underage OUI.

In Maine, drivers who are under the legal drinking age (21 years old) are prohibited from operating a vehicle with any measurable amount of alcohol in their system. Here are the consequences underage drivers face for violating this zero-tolerance drinking and driving law.

Underage OUI Penalties

An underage OUI (operating under the influence) violation will result in the following consequences:

  • First offense. For a first violation, the driver will generally be looking at a one-year license suspension.
  • Second or subsequent offense. For a second or subsequent violation, the driver will typically be facing a two-year license suspension.

If the underage driver had a passenger under the age of 21 at the time of the offense, there's an additional 180 days of license suspension.

Also, underage drivers are subject to the state's implied consent laws, which generally require all drivers to submit to alcohol testing. Drivers who unlawfully refuse testing face an 18-month suspension for a first violation and a 30-month suspension for a second or subsequent offense.

Early license reinstatement is possible for drivers who complete a substance abuse treatment program.

When Underage Drivers Face Standard OUI Penalties

Underage drivers who are caught operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more or while under the influence of (impaired by) drugs or alcohol face the standard OUI penalties. Depending on the circumstances, someone convicted of a standard OUI could be looking at fines, jail time, and license suspension.

Talk to an Attorney

Regardless of the charge, it's always best to talk to an experienced OUI attorney if you've been cited for driving under the influence. A qualified lawyer can tell you how the law applies to your situation and help you decide on the best course of action.

Protect Yourself. Talk to a Lawyer About Your Case

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FACING A DUI?

Talk to a DUI Defense attorney

We've helped 115 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you