Joshua Egan

 

Joshua D. Egan is a licensed attorney in Utah and Arizona with prosecution and criminal defense experience.   He graduated from the  Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law  at Arizona State University.   As a law student, Joshua clerked for the criminal division of the  U.S. Attorney’s Office  (Arizona District)  and worked with the  Maricopa County Attorney’s Office  prosecuting felony domestic violence cases. After graduating, Joshua worked for an insurance defense firm for a year before becoming a Deputy County Attorney with the Maricopa County Attorney’s Office.   As a prosecutor, he resolved hundreds of DUI cases in one of the busiest justice courts in Arizona. Currently, Joshua lives in Salt Lake City, Utah where he works as an associate attorney with  Nelson, Snuffer, Dahle & Poulsen, P.C.,  focusing on criminal defense.

 


Articles By Joshua Egan

Penalties for Boating (Operating) Under the Influence in Arizona
Read about the consequences of being convicted of drunk boating in Arizona.
Arizona’s Underage ("Not-a-Drop") DUI Law
Arizona has a strict “not-a-drop” law that makes it illegal for drivers under the age of 21 to drive with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. An underage violation differs from a standard DUI because it doesn’t require proof that the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was .08% or more or that the driver was impaired.
Arizona's Implied Consent Law Requirements and Refusal Penalties
An officer’s investigation into your DUI doesn’t end with your arrest. If you are arrested for DUI, the officer will typically ask that you submit to a blood, breath, or urine test to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC). If you refuse the test, your license will be suspended for at least 12 months (unless you successfully challenge the arrest later.)
Penalties for a Third-Offense DUI in Arizona
In Arizona, a third DUI within seven years of an earlier DUI conviction carries much harsher consequences than a first or second offense. Under Arizona law, it's illegal to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Penalties for a Second-Offense DUI in Arizona
Read about the consequences of a second-offense DUI in Arizona.
Second-Offense DUI in Nevada
Read about the penalties for a second DUI conviction in Nevada, including the jail time, fines, and license-suspension period
First-Offense DUI in Nevada
Nevada imposes criminal and administrative penalties for those convicted of a first-time DUI. Read about the specific consequences, including jail time, license suspension, and fines
Nevada Drunk Driving Laws and Penalties
Learn about how Nevada defines "driving under the influence" and the penalties for a DUI conviction in the state.
First-Offense DUI in Arizona
Arizona law prohibits driving “[w]hile under the influence of intoxicating liquor, any drug, a vapor releasing substance containing a toxic substance or any combination of liquor, drugs or vapor releasing substances if the person is impaired to the slightest degree." A first time offender is subject to a minimum 24 hour sentence in jail.
Arizona DUI Laws
Arizona officially uses the term “driving under the influence” (DUI) instead of “driving while intoxicated” (DWI). However, some people still use DWI and DUI interchangeably to refer to drunk or drugged driving.