Alaska law prohibits driving with an open container of alcohol in the vehicle unless the beverage is:
An open container violation is an infraction in Alaska. A conviction will result in a fine of up to $300 but is not considered a criminal offense and will not result in imprisonment. A conviction will result in two points against the motorist’s driving record, which can lead to other penalties, including license suspension.
The exemptions listed above do not apply to commercial vehicles. A commercial vehicle driver is not allowed to have any alcohol within the vehicle unless part of the documented cargo. Such a violation will result in a fine up to $500, a maximum 90 days in jail, and possible license suspension/revocation. Additionally, the officer will issue an out-of-service order along with the citation, immediately prohibiting the licensee from driving for the next 24 hours.