As in most other states, it's generally illegal in Louisiana to have an open container of alcohol in a vehicle. This article explains Louisiana's open container rules and the penalties for an open container ticket.
Louisiana law prohibits any person from transporting an alcoholic beverage in a vehicle operated on a public highway if:
These restrictions generally apply to all persons within the car, including the driver and passengers.
Louisiana's open container law contains a number of exceptions.
Louisiana's open container law isn't applicable to passengers riding in certain types of vehicles, including limousines, RVs (in excess of 21 feet in length), and buses.
The open container restrictions don't apply to items in the trunk of the car, behind the back seat, in a locked glove box, or in other areas of a vehicle not normally occupied by or readily accessible to the driver or passengers. Open alcohol containers are also permitted for passengers on parade floats.
Louisiana is home to unique "frozen-daiquiri shops" that sell frozen alcoholic drinks from a drive-through window. Possession of frozen alcoholic drinks in a vehicle is permitted as long as the cup has a lid, has no straw protruding from the top, and has not had any contents removed.
The City of New Orleans has its own unique laws regarding when and where alcohol can be consumed.
An open container violation is a misdemeanor in Louisiana. A conviction will result in a fine of up to $100 but no jail time. A person may be arrested for an open container violation but generally must be released (as opposed to being taken to jail) unless other circumstances exist that justify further detention.