A second DUI conviction (also called "operating under the influence" or "OUI") in Alaska is a class A misdemeanor—as is a first-offense conviction—and carries jail, a fine, and license suspension. This article discusses the specific penalties you'll face if convicted of a second-offense DUI in Alaska as well as some factors that can increase these penalties.
A DUI will be considered a second offense if the offender has a qualifying prior offense (such as driving or boating under the influence) within the last 15 years.
Jail time. A second DUI conviction in Alaska carries 20 days to one year in jail. If approved by the commissioner of corrections, this time can be served under house arrest but this option requires the offender to also complete 160 hours of community service.
Fines. A person convicted of a second DUI will pay a mandatory fine of $3,000 to $25,000. The court can also charge the offender up to $2,000 for jailing costs.
Forfeiture. The court can order the driver's vehicle be forfeited and sold for a second DUI conviction.
Treatment. All DUI convictions require the offender to complete a drug and alcohol evaluation. The court reviews the results of this evaluation and can order educational classes, inpatient treatment, and even anti-alcoholism medications.
A second-offense DUI will also result in a one-year driver's license suspension followed by an 18-month ignition interlock device (IID) requirement. However, after 30 days of suspension, the driver can request a restricted IID license. The applicant must provide certification of employment and proof of completion or current participation in substance abuse treatment. Any violation of the IID restriction or of treatment requirements will result in restricted license cancelation.