Oklahoma's Boating Under the Influence Laws

Read about the consequences of boating under the influence (BUI) in Oklahoma.

Oklahoma law prohibits operating or being in actual physical control of a vessel—except on privately owned waters—while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. A person can be convicted of boating under the influence for operating a vessel while:

  • under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or any other intoxicating substance “to a degree which renders such person incapable of safely operating a vessel,” or
  • having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .1% or greater.

(Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 63, § 4210.8(A) (2016).)

BUI Penalties

The consequences of an Oklahoma BUI depend on the circumstances of the case. But generally, the penalties are:

  • First offense. A first-offense BUI is a misdemeanor and carries a fine of up to $1,000.
  • Repeat offense. A second or subsequent BUI is also a misdemeanor, but the fines are $1,000 to $2,500.

(Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 63, § 4210.8(C) (2016).)

Talk to an Attorney

If you’ve been arrested for or charged with boating under the influence in Oklahoma, get in contact with an experienced BUI attorney. The facts of every case are different. A good BUI attorney should be able to explain how the law applies to the facts of your case and help you decide on your best course of action.

Protect Yourself. Talk to a Lawyer About Your Case

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FACING A DUI?

Talk to a DUI Defense attorney

We've helped 115 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you