Oklahoma’s Zero-Tolerance Underage DUI Laws

Read about Oklahoma’s DUI laws that apply to drivers who are under 21 years old.

In Oklahoma, it is illegal for anyone who’s under 21 years old to operate a vehicle:

  • with any measurable quantity of alcohol in their system, or
  • while exhibiting evidence of being under the influence of alcohol and/or any other intoxicating substance.

This article discusses the specific penalties you’ll face if convicted of an underage DUI in Oklahoma.

Underage DUI Criminal Penalties

Underage DUI penalties in Oklahoma vary depending on the facts of the case. But the ranges of possible penalties for a first, second, and third underage DUI are generally as follows.

1st Offense

2nd Offense

3rd Offense

Fines

$100 to $1,000

$100 to $1,000

$100 to $2,000

Community Service

20 hours

240 hours

480 hours

Treatment

Attend and complete judge-determined treatment program

Complete assessment and recommended treatment

Complete assessment and recommended treatment

Before sentencing, the convicted driver must obtain a drug and alcohol evaluation from a certified assessor. The judge will review the assessor’s report and factor the assessor’s recommendations into the sentencing order. The sentence will often include inpatient treatment, educational classes, or other intervention measures. Failure to abide by the assessor’s treatment recommendations can result in extended jail time and license suspension.

Driver’s License Sanctions

The court reports all DUI convictions and deferred prosecutions to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. For most underage DUIs, the Department will revoke the driver’s license for six months for a first offense, one year for a second offense, and two years for a third offense. The court can alternatively order that the driver’s license be revoked until the driver is 21 years old.

During this revocation period, the licensee can request a modified license by entering into the “Impaired Driver Accountability Program.” A modified license gives the motorist limited driving privileges but requires the use of an ignition interlock device.

Talk to an Attorney

If you’ve been arrested for driving under the influence in Oklahoma, it’s a good idea to talk to a DUI lawyer. DUI law is complicated and the facts of each case are different. A qualified DUI attorney can tell you how the law applies to your case and help you decide on the best course of action.

Protect Yourself. Talk to a Lawyer About Your Case

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FACING A DUI?

Talk to a DUI Defense attorney

We've helped 115 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you