You can be charged with a DUI (driving under the influence) in Wyoming for operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more or while under the influence of (impaired by) drugs or alcohol. Most DUI convictions are misdemeanors. However, in certain circumstances, a DUI can be a felony.
Here are some of the circumstances that can result in felony DUI charges in Wyoming.
Typically, a first, second, or third DUI conviction is a misdemeanor in Wyoming. But when a driver has three or more prior convictions that occurred within the past ten years, the next DUI (fourth or subsequent) will be a felony.
A fourth or subsequent DUI conviction carries up to $10,000 in fines and a maximum seven years in prison.
A DUI involving serious bodily injury is a felony and carries $2,000 to $5,000 in fines and a maximum ten years in prison.
Causing the death of another person while driving under the influence is "aggravated homicide-by-vehicle." A conviction is a felony and carries up to 20 years behind bars.