Alabama Drugged Driving Laws

Learn about the penalties for drugged or high driving in Alabama.

Alabama's DUI laws prohibit not only drunk driving but also driving or being in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or other impairing substances. This article will explain and define these legal terms and lay out the penalties of a drugged driving conviction.

Level of Drug Impairment That Can Lead to a DUI

Alabama's DUI law makes it illegal to drive while impaired to a degree that renders the person incapable of safely driving a vehicle.

Proving impairment. To get a DUI conviction, the prosecutor must prove that the driver was incapable of safely driving. In proving a DUI charge, prosecutors might use the chemical test results showing the amount of drugs in the driver's system, expert testimony, and the observations of the arresting officers. Observations of poor field sobriety test performance, stumbling, confusion, delayed reaction, or other indications of impairment can lead to a DUI conviction.

Any substance. Drugged driving violations are not limited to just illicit and illegal drugs. A driver can be convicted if they are impaired due to any substance, be it marijuana, cocaine, or even prescription drugs. Also, the fact that the driver had a valid prescription for the medication cannot be used as an excuse for impaired driving.

Alabama DUI Penalties

The penalties for drugged driving are the same as those for drunk driving.

1st Offense

2nd Offense

3rd Offense

Jail

Up to 1 year

5 days to 1 year

60 days to 1 year

Fines

$600 to $2,100

$1,100 to $5,100

$2,100 to $10,100

License Suspension

90 days

1-year revocation

3-year revocation

Ignition Interlock Device (IID)

6 months

2 years

3 years

In some situations, the minimum jail sentence can be served through completing community service. And it might be possible to obtain a restricted IID license during part of the suspension or revocation period.

Anyone convicted of a DUI in Alabama must obtain a substance abuse evaluation and complete all court-ordered treatment for probation and license reinstatement.

Protect Yourself. Talk to a Lawyer About Your Case

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FACING A DUI?

Talk to a DUI Defense attorney

We've helped 115 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you