In Hawaii, driving under the influence (DUI) is officially called "operating a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant," but lots of people still use the more universal term, "DUI." A second DUI conviction is a misdemeanor in Hawaii. A DUI is considered a second offense in Hawaii if the driver has one prior DUI that occurred within the last ten years.
Here are some of the more common consequences and penalties of a second DUI conviction in Hawaii.
Hawaii law sets the minimum and maximum penalties for a second DUI. And the judge generally determines the specific penalties within the allowable ranges.
Standard second DUI. A second DUI conviction generally carries 48 hours of community service or five to 30 days in jail and $1,000 to $3,000 in fines.
Additional penalties for minor passengers. In addition to the normal penalties, second DUIs involving child passengers who are under age 15 carry an extra $500 in fines and 48 hours in jail. Also, the license revocation for these offenses can't be less than two years.
The court reports all DUI convictions to the Division of Motor Vehicles. For most second-offense DUIs, the state will revoke the driver's license for 24 months to three years. But generally, a driver can obtain a restricted driving permit to drive during the revocation with an installed ignition interlock device (IID).
If you've been arrested for driving under the influence in Hawaii, talk to a DUI lawyer as soon as possible. The consequences of a DUI are serious, especially if you have prior convictions. A qualified DUI attorney can tell you how the law applies to your case and help you decide on how best to handle your situation.