In Maine, driving under the influence (DUI) is officially called "operating under the influence," (OUI) but lots of people still use the more universal term, "DUI." A second OUI conviction is a misdemeanor in Maine. An OUI is considered a second offense in Maine if the driver has one prior OUI that occurred within the last ten years.
Here are some of the more common consequences and penalties of a second OUI conviction in Maine.
Maine law sets the minimum and maximum penalties for a second OUI. And the judge generally determines the specific penalties within the allowable ranges.
A second OUI conviction generally carries seven days to one year in jail (12 days minimum if the defendant refused an alcohol test) and $700 to $2,000 in fines (a minimum of $900 for alcohol test refusals).
The court reports all OUI convictions to the Secretary of State. For most second-offense OUIs, the state will revoke the driver's license for three years.
If you've been arrested for driving under the influence in Maine, talk to an OUI lawyer as soon as possible. The consequences of an OUI are serious, especially if you have prior convictions. A qualified OUI attorney can tell you how the law applies to your case and help you decide on how best to handle your situation.