In Hawaii, driving under the influence (DUI) is officially called "operating a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant," but lots of people still use the more universal term, "DUI." A third DUI conviction is a felony in Hawaii. A DUI is considered a third offense in Hawaii if the driver has two prior DUIs that occurred within the last ten years.
Here are some of the more common consequences and penalties of a third DUI conviction in Hawaii.
Hawaii law sets the minimum and maximum penalties for a third DUI. And the judge generally determines the specific penalties within the allowable ranges.
A third DUI conviction is a class C felony and generally carries five years in prison or five years of probation. If the judge grants probation, the terms of probation will include at least ten days in jail, a fine of $2,000 to $5,000, and completion of a substance abuse evaluation.
The court reports all DUI convictions to the Division of Motor Vehicles. For most third-offense DUIs, the state will revoke the driver's license for two to five years. But generally, a driver can obtain a restricted driving permit to drive during the revocation with an installed ignition interlock device (IID).
If you've been arrested for driving under the influence in Hawaii, talk to a DUI lawyer as soon as possible. The consequences of a DUI are serious, especially if you have prior convictions. A qualified DUI attorney can tell you how the law applies to your case and help you decide on how best to handle your situation.