In Maine, driving under the influence (DUI) is officially called "operating under the influence," (OUI) but lots of people still use the more universal term, "DUI." A third OUI conviction is a class C crime (the equivalent of a felony in Maine). An OUI is considered a third offense in Maine if the driver has one prior OUI that occurred within the last ten years.
Here are some of the more common consequences and penalties of a third OUI conviction in Maine.
Maine law sets the minimum and maximum penalties for a third OUI. And the judge generally determines the specific penalties within the allowable ranges.
A third OUI conviction generally carries 30 days to five years in jail (40 days minimum if the defendant refused an alcohol test) and $1,100 to $5,000 in fines (a minimum of $1,400 for alcohol test refusals).
The court reports all OUI convictions to the Secretary of State. For most third-offense OUIs, the state will revoke the driver's license for six years.
If you've been arrested for driving under the influence in Maine, talk to an OUI lawyer as soon as possible. The consequences of an OUI are serious, especially if you have prior convictions. A qualified OUI attorney can tell you how the law applies to your case and help you decide on how best to handle your situation.