Vermont's Drugged Driving Laws

How drug use can result in a DUI charge in Vermont and the penalties that result from a conviction.

Vermont not only prohibits drunk driving but also driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs. The penalties for a drug DUI are generally the same as those for an alcohol-related offense.

This article discusses how Vermont defines drugged driving and the consequences of a violation.

Drugged Driving Defined

A Vermont motorist can be convicted of a drug DUI for driving or being in "actual physical control" of a vehicle while under the influence of drugs. For purposes of the state's DUI laws, a driver is considered under the influence if his or her ability to operate a motor vehicle is diminished or impaired in the slightest degree.

Drugged Driving Penalties

The consequences of a Vermont drugged driving conviction depend on the circumstances. But generally, a DUI carries the following possible penalties:

  • First offense. A first DUI conviction generally carries a fine of up to $750, a maximum of two years in jail, and a license suspension of 90 days.
  • Second offense. For a second DUI, the offender is generally looking at up to two years in jail, a maximum fine of $1,500, and an 18-month license suspension.
  • Third offense. Generally, a third DUI is a felony and carries up to five years in jail, a maximum fine of $2,500, and a lifetime license suspension.

Some offenders are eligible for a restricted license for driving during a suspension. However, an ignition interlock device (IID) is a requirement of this type of license.

Getting Legal Help

Vermont DUI law is complex, and the facts of every case are different. If you've been arrested for driving under the influence, talk to an experienced DUI attorney in your area. A qualified DUI lawyer can tell you how the law applies to the facts of your case and help you decide on the best course of action.

Protect Yourself. Talk to a Lawyer About Your Case

Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
FACING A DUI?

Talk to a DUI Defense attorney

We've helped 115 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you