Underage DUI Laws and Penalties in Nevada

The penalties for violating Nevada’s zero-tolerance DUI law.

Nevada prohibits the operation of a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more as well as with certain concentrations of controlled substances. But Nevada applies a BAC limit of .02% to drivers under 21 years of age. This article outlines the applicable rules and penalties for violations.

Underage DUI Laws and Penalties

Unlike in some other states, a violation of Nevada's zero-tolerance law is not a criminal offense. Driving with a BAC of .02% or more, for underage drivers, will result in only administrative license-related penalties.

During a DUI stop, the arresting officer will typically request that the driver to submit to a breath or blood test to determine the presence of drugs and/or alcohol. If testing reveals the underage driver has a BAC of .02% or more, the officer is supposed to seize the driver's license, issue a notice of suspension, and provide a temporary permit. If the driver chooses to appeal the suspension, the temporary permit will be valid until the appeal is resolved.

Suspension. A driver who's under the age of 21 and has a BAC of .02% to .08% will be suspended for 90 days. However, restricted driving privileges may be available with the use of an ignition interlock device (IID).

Reinstatement. Prior to license reinstatement, the driver may be required to pay a reinstatement fee, attend driving improvement classes, or obtain a drug and alcohol assessment. An alcohol-related violation will also delay the graduated license process for teen drivers.

Test refusal. Under Nevada's implied consent law, all drivers are generally deemed to have given consent to chemical testing to determine the presence of alcohol or drugs. A driver who unlawfully refuses will face certain penalties. Underage drivers who refuse testing can face an additional one to three years of license revocation.

Related Charges and Penalties

Although a zero-tolerance violation carries only license-related penalties, the underage driver might face other criminal charges related to the incident. For example, public consumption of alcohol by underage persons is a misdemeanor and can result in jail and fines.

Also, an underage driver who has a BAC of .08% or more or is otherwise impaired can be charged with a standard DUI. A conviction can result in penalties such as jail time, fines, license suspension, and IID requirements.

Talk to a DUI Defense attorney
We've helped 115 clients find attorneys today.
There was a problem with the submission. Please refresh the page and try again
Full Name is required
Email is required
Please enter a valid Email
Phone Number is required
Please enter a valid Phone Number
Zip Code is required
Please add a valid Zip Code
Please enter a valid Case Description
Description is required

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you